Thursday, 10 January 2019

News & Reviews: Paganism, Witchcraft & Witch Hunts

A round-up of news stories about paganism, witchcraft and witch hunts, plus a link to a review of a new book:

"Review: Witches, Witch-Hunting and Women" - review of a new book at Red Pepper: https://www.redpepper.org.uk/review-witches-witch-hunting-and-women/

"Sailors Hold Heathen Religious Services Aboard Deployed Aircraft Carrier" - story at Military.com: https://www.military.com/daily-news/2019/01/03/sailors-hold-heathen-religious-services-aboard-deployed-aircraft-carrier.html

"Aries, Jeremy Deller and David Sims explore pagan mysticism in new pagan mysticism in new The Store X show" - blog post at The Vinyl Factory https://thevinylfactory.com/news/aries-jeremy-deller-david-sims-wiltshire-b4-christ-store-x/

"Pagan moots return to South Gloucestershire" - story at Gazette Series: https://www.gazetteseries.co.uk/news/17344773.pagan-moots-return-to-south-gloucestershire/

"Five myths about 'witch hunts'" - story at Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/five-myths/five-myths-about-witch-hunts/2019/01/09/40f85b20-0d0d-11e9-8938-5898adc28fa2_story.html?

"Brutal witch hunts bring terror to Papua New Guinea as women are as women are gang-raped, tortured for hours with hot machetes and then beaten by mobs of up to 1,000 villagers" - story at Daily Mail: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6556527/Modern-witch-hunts-terrorise-New-Guinea-highlands.html

“Coming out of the broom closet:” Denver witches report a vibrant, growing community as witchcraft charms mainstream culture" - story at The Denver Post: https://www.denverpost.com/2018/12/28/witchcraft-denver-colorado-ritual-cravt/

"Witches Race in Switzerland" - story at InTheSnow: https://www.inthesnow.com/witches-race-in-switzerland/






No comments: