Tuesday, 31 January 2017

News: Witchcraft, Witch Hunts, Occult, Paganism

Here is a round-up of news stories from around the world the past week relating to witchcraft, paganism and the occult. Several stories are about events in the US:

"France: Ancient pagan burials shows slow path to Christianity" - story at International Business Times UK: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/vast-ancient-necropolis-southern-france-reveals-path-christianity-was-slow-1602573

"From severed heads to the 'Hex on Becks' – charting football's pagan past" - story at Scroll.in: https://thefield.scroll.in/827855/from-severed-heads-to-the-hex-on-becks-charting-footballs-pagan-past

""Plenty to explore on this perfect half-day stroll" - story at the Harrogate Advertiser about the Druids Temple, a folly created by William Danby of nearby Swinton Hall (pictured top): http://www.harrogateadvertiser.co.uk/lifestyle/outdoors/plenty-to-explore-on-this-perfect-half-day-stroll-1-8343533

"W.I.T.C.H. Rises Again to Take on the Patriarchy, White Supremacy, and More" - story at The Daily Dot: http://www.dailydot.com/irl/witch-is-back/

"Doctors are scarce on India's river island – so the witch-hunters are back" - story at The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/jan/29/witch-hunters-return-river-island-assam-india

"'Psychic cat' is bought by a Siberian witch for £66750" - story at Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4161012/Psychic-cat-bought-Siberian-witch-66-750.html

"The Brattle Theatre presents a weeklong celebration of the occult" - story about a week of films and talks about the occult in movies, in the US, at Metro.us: http://www.metro.us/boston/the-brattle-theatre-presents-a-weeklong-celebration-of-the-occult/zsJqaA---Bh9Q7DCY5Qpc/

"Russians seek secrets of future with pagan traditions" - story at The Daily Star: https://www.dailystar.com.lb/Life/Living/2017/Jan-20/390149-russians-seek-secrets-of-future-with-pagan-traditions.ashx

"Religious Services Now Being Held in OH and WV Prisons for Pagans, Wiccans, and Satanists" - story at World Religion News: http://www.worldreligionnews.com/religion-news/religious-services-now-being-held-in-oh-and-wv-prisons-for-pagans-wiccans-satanists

"'Nazi druid' Burghard B. detained on terror charges" - story at Deutsche Welle: http://www.dw.com/en/nazi-druid-burghard-b-detained-on-terror-charges/a-37291335

"Salem finalizes plans for memorial where 19 'witches' were executed" - story at The Boston Globe: https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2017/01/27/salem-finalizes-plans-for-memorial-where-witches-were-executed/mB4UOukHKKsFtENzhTA9BP/story.html

Photo copyright details: This image was taken from the Geograph project collection. See this photograph's page on the Geograph website for the photographer's contact details. The copyright on this image is owned by Paul Allison and is licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 license.

No comments: